Address: Lots Road SW10
An interesting and well designed garden,
Cremorne Gardens is situated in the south of the Borough on the
northern bank of the River Thames. Not far from King’s Road
it boasts spectacular views over the Thames and offers a welcome
retreat from the hustle and bustle of London living.
Garden Practicalities: Staffed Park. Open
7.30am until dusk. Public toilet facilities.
gardens commemorate the site of the famous Cremorne Pleasure
Gardens which opened in 1845 and closed down in 1877. After
renaming the house after himself, Thomas Dawson, Lord Cremorne who
had bought Chelsea Farm in 1778, had the house enlarged.
In 1831 the house was purchased by Charles
Random De Berenger, Baron De Beaufain who turned it first into a
sports club and then opened the pleasure gardens. Entertainment
included concerts, fireworks, balloon ascents and galas.
After its closure, the gardens were sold for building and soon
built over. In the early part of the 20th Century, Lord Cremorne's
mansion, known as Chelsea Farm, was often visited by George III,
Queen Charlotte, and the Prince of Wales. In 1825 the house
and grounds devolved on Mr. Granville Penn, a cousin of Lady
Cremorne, who much improved the estate, but later disposed of it.
The wrought-iron gateway which had stood at the King's Road end of
the original gardens and belonged to Lord Cremorne's house was
incorporated when the riverside park was newly landscaped in