Christmas rubbish and recycling collections

Christmas closure

During the holidays there are no recycling or rubbish collections on: 

  • Tuesday 25 December 2018
  • Tuesday 1 January 2019 

Normal services start again on Thursday 3 January 2019.

Collection dates December 2018 / January 2019

Usual day:  Collected on:
Friday 21 December Friday 21 December
Monday 24 December Monday 24 December
Tuesday 25 December Friday 28 December
Thursday 27 December Thursday 27 December
Friday 28 December Friday 28 December
Monday 31 December Monday 31 December
Tuesday 1 January Friday 4 January
Thursday 3 January Thursday 3 Janaury
Friday 4 January Friday 4 January

Useful tips

Help us keep our collection service effective.

  • If your property has a refuse storage area, use it. Please don't leave your rubblish on the pavement.
  • If your property doesn't have a storage area, put your rubbish and recycling on the pavement outside your property before 7am on the morning of collection (not the night before).

Don't forget that leaving rubbish and recycling out on the wrong day is an offence and you could face a fixed penalty notice and/or prosecution.

Estates, mansion blocks and flats

If you live on an estate, or in a mansion block or flat, your rubbish and recycling is collected from communal bins/mixed recycling banks as normal.

There will be no rubbish or recycling collection on Tuesday 25 December or Tuesday 1 January 2019.

Garden waste collection

Usual day: Wednesday 26 December
Collected on: Saturday 29 December

Usual day:Wednesday 2 January
Collected on: Saturday 5 January 2019

Read more about our garden waste collection service.

Food waste collection

Usual day: Tuesday 25 December
Collected on: Wednesday 26 December

Usual day: Tuesday 1 January
Collected on: Wednesday 2 January 2019

Find out about our food waste collection service.

Christmas tree recycling

If you're having a real Christmas tree this year and can't compost it yourself, use our Christmas tree recycling service.