The Royal Borough and the 2012 Games

ParalympicParalympic Torch Relay

The Paralympic Torch Relay started on Wednesday 22 August when four National flames were created in England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.  The flames are then transferred to each nation’s capital city, where there will be an evening of celebration. 

The separate flames then came together to create the Paralympic Flame at Stoke Mandeville, followed by a 24-hour Torch Relay  to London for the Opening Ceremony. 

In London, the Torch Relay passed landmarks including Westminster Abbey, Downing Street and Trafalgar Square.

Visit the London 2012 website for information about the Paralympic Torch relay, including details about the torchbearers.