Leighton House Museum Phase 3 Restoration: From Hidden Gem to National Treasure

Leighton House Museum is a unique surviving example of the Victorian ‘house beautiful’ and was the home and life project of Frederic, Lord Leighton, eminent Victorian artist and President of the Royal Academy from 1878-1895. Since 1927, the house has been under the care of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.


In 2010 we completed phases 1 and 2 of an extensive refurbishment and restoration to reinstate the house interiors as Leighton knew them.  We are now proposing to embark on a third phase of refurbishment of this Grade II* listed building and the scope of work includes:

  • more public space
  • an improved exhibition area
  • new learning spaces
  • restoration some of the original features lost within later extensions
  • making the museum wheelchair accessible

Perrin Wing supporting the Original House to create an enhanced visitor experience













Perrin Wing supporting the Original House to create an enhanced visitor experience


This project is being made possible thanks to a community-focused partnership between The Friends of Leighton House (FLH), the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) and the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.


The support of FLH and HLF will allow for the restoration of the historic fabric, create new displays, learning spaces, offices and storage area for art collections. The Royal Borough as caretaker and landlord of the House, will contribute to this project from its capital reserves, funding essential maintenance works including improving toilet facilities, additional cloakrooms and for the first time, making the Museum accessible to all.


For further information and details of the refurbishment, please download the PDF below:

Download project boards here [PDF]


For any comments and questions about the refurbishment, please send an email to LHMrefurbishment@rbkc.gov.uk


Press enquiries: Ana Garcia ana.garcia@rbck.gov.uk

Technical and architecture enquiries: pressoffice@rbkc.gov.uk

Open daily except Tuesday
10am - 5.30pm
12 Holland Park Road
London W12 8LZ
email: museums@rbkc.gov.uk