To return to the previous page press the 'Back' button in your browser.
Cheyne Walk looking east from Don Saltero's Tavern in 1850 by T H Shepherd
This charming detailed watercolour shows the houses at the eastern end of Cheyne Walk. They were built in the early 18th century on the site of Henry VIII's Manor House. At this time Don Saltero's was a hotel and tavern. The sign on the top refers to the famous coffee house established by John Salter in 1695. Originally the coffee house was sited near the Chelsea Old Church, Salter moved here in 1718. A few years after this watercolour was painted the pub closed. The building was remodelled as a private house. Two doors away, at number 18, is Gabriel Rossetti's residence.
Location of original: SB02 A151
Copyright: Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea Libraries (RBKC, Libraries)
Every effort has been made to seek permission to reproduce those images whose copyright does not reside with The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, and we are grateful to the individuals and institutions who have assisted in this task. Any omissions are entirely unintentional, and the details should be addressed to Virtual Museum Team, The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.