The same bustling scene but 70 years earlier. This was the heyday for the department stores as the ultimate shopping experience. Among the cars and buses a man riding a horse can be seen outside Derry and Toms.
Huge crowds came to the sales with special trains into Victoria laid on. The High Street station and arcade were renovated in 1937 to cope with the large number of shoppers.
Barkers, Derry and Toms and Pontings were the giants of the high street. All started as small businesses which expanded rapidly swallowing up all the smaller retailers. From the late 1930s even bigger and more impressive buildings were built. But even these mighty concerns succumbed. Barkers by 1920 controlled the entire southern frontage from Young Street to Wright's Lane. By 1957 Barkers was taken over by the House of Fraser. Sadly in January 2006 Barkers closed its doors for good.
But this was not how the station looked when it was built in 1868. To see the first station, go to the next screen.
Copyright: the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea Libraries (RBKC Libraries)
Location of original: SB02 RSq A F Beales manuscript
Every effort has been made to seek permission to reproduce those images whose copyright does not reside with The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, and we are grateful to the individuals and institutions who have assisted in this task. Any omissions are entirely unintentional, and the details should be addressed to Virtual Museum Team, The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.