The De Morgan Café at Leighton House
A new space to to enjoy and relax with stunning views into our garden.
Set in the recovered space beneath Leighton’s winter studio, the new café is set to become one of the key attractions at Leighton House following our transformative Hidden Gem to National Treasure restoration and refurbishment project.
Floor-to-ceiling glazing provides views out onto the house's large garden and the other artists’ studio-houses beyond, while the restored brickwork, cast iron columns and vaulted ceiling of the original building give the space a unique character.
Providing hot and cold drinks and a delicious range of high quality refreshments, the café is free to enter and will be a wonderful place to meet friends or relax during your visit to the museum.
A place for art
The new De Morgan café has been named after the Leighton House collection of William De Morgan ceramics, which will be on display in the café. The collection was donated to Leighton House in the 1920s by Ida Perrin.
Frederic Leighton first commissioned De Morgan to install his collection of Middle Eastern tiles into his new Arab Hall in 1877. De Morgan then went on to create the iconic peacock blue tiles of the adjoining Narcissus Hall.
Also on show in the café is a new counter, which forms part of a unique suite of furniture commissioned from Turquoise Mountain for the new wing. Created by master artisans from Syria and now based in Amman (Jordan), the designs feature hand-crafted marquetry inspired by a Syrian chest in the historic house, which was acquired by Leighton on his travels.
Available for private events
The café space which occupies the Wolfson Garden Room will also be available to hire for private events, providing a modern space for entertaining, looking out on the newly landscaped garden beyond.