Apply for a suspension

How much notice you need to give

You must tell us in writing before you apply for a suspension.

Submit application before 3pm on:For resident bays on:For pay and display bays on:
Tuesday 10 December 2019

Tuesday 24, Wednesday 25 and Thursday 26 December

Thursday 12 December 
Wednesday 11 December 2019Friday 27 DecemberFriday 13 December
Thursday 12 December 2019Saturday 28 and Sunday 29 DecemberSaturday 14 and Monday 16 December
Friday 13 December 2019Monday 30, Tuesday 31 and Wednesday 1 January 2020Tuesday 17 December
Monday 16 December 2019Thursday 2 January 2020Wednesday 18 December
Tuesday 17 December 2019Friday 3 January 2020Thursday 19 December
Wednesday 18 December 2019Saturday 4 January 2020Friday 20 December
Thursday 19 December 2019Sunday 5 January 2020Saturday 21 and Monday 23 December 
Friday 20 December 2019Monday 6, Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 January 2020Tuesday 24 December
Monday 23 December 2019Thursday 9 January 2020Friday 27 December
Tuesday 24 December 2019Friday 10 JanuarySaturday 28 and Monday 30 December
Wednesday 25 December 2019Bank holiday Bank holiday
Thursday 26 December 2019Bank holidayBank holiday
Friday 27 December 2019Saturday 11, Sunday 12 and Monday 13 JanuaryTuesday 31 December
Monday 30 December 2019Tuesday 14 JanuaryThursday 2 January 2020
Tuesday 31 December 2019Wednesday 15 JanuaryFriday 3 January 2020
Wednesday 1 January 2020Bank holidayBank holiday
Thursday 2 January 2020 

Thursday 16 January

Saturday 4 and Monday 5 January 2020

Outside of the above period we need:

  • ten working days notice in writing to suspend a resident parking space 
  • two working days notice in writing to suspend a pay and display bay

Working days apply from Monday to Friday, and don't include holidays or bank holidays.

We must receive your application before 3pm to accept it for that day.

There needs to be one clear consecutive week between the dates required for a suspension for a second application to be treated as a new application and incur the lower charges.

Details are outlined in our notice period chart:

Notice Period Chart

If you are applying for a suspension for filming we need longer notice.

Find out about filming in the borough.

Apply for a suspension

Apply online.

You can also apply by application form. Return your completed form by:

Suspension application - May 2019

Utility companies' application form: 

Utility Suspension application - May 2019

You can also visit the Customer Service Centre at the Kensington Town Hall or phone 020 7361 4385 to request a form.

Application process

We will check your completed form and contact you if there is a problem.

If your application is unsuccessful we will call to explain why.

If your application is successful and we have received payment, we will send you written confirmation.

Please keep this letter safe as it will have details of the suspension and phone numbers you might need if vehicles obstruct the suspended bay or bays.

If you need more information or don’t receive this confirmation please call us 020 7361 4385.

Complaints and changes

If we receive any complaints about how you are using the suspended bay, we will investigate and could withdraw the parking suspension.

If you have booked a suspension, you must email us at parking.suspensions@rbkc.gov.uk about any changes to your booking immediately.

Renewals

If you need to renew your suspension you must tell us in writing by 3pm on the day before the suspension ends. If you do not, the bays will return to general use and you will have to reapply and will need to give the required notice period before the suspension starts again.